Chelmsford marks the NHS at 70


Outstanding Service and Care Awards

Colleagues from across the trust enjoyed a fantastic evening of 1940s fun at the NHS 70 themed annual staff awards at Chelmsford City Racecourse on Friday, June 29.

The ‘Outstanding Service and Care Awards’ (OSCAs) represented a wonderful opportunity to recognise the achievements of our staff in this, the year in which we celebrate the 70th anniversary of the birth of the NHS.

Guests attended in some fabulous 1940s attire, and the programme for the evening featured a meal, music and dancing, alongside the awards ceremony for which the trust chairman, Nick Alston, acted as Master of Ceremonies. The Mayor of Chelmsford, Councillor Yvonne Spence, kindly attended to present the ‘volunteer of the year’ award.

Long Service Awards went to Tina Chesnaye, 36 years from the St Andrews Centre, Pamela Hornsby, 37 years Broomfield Hospital, Lynn Margaret Thomas, 40 years also at Broomfield Hospital and Lyn Hinton, 40 years.


Outstanding Service for an Individual Clinician was won by Jo Smith, Matron for Medicine.
Outstanding Service for Individual member of our Non-Clinical staff went to Kate Stevens, in the Risk and Safety Manager, Governance Department.

Individual award Nominated by Patients was won by Gopalakrishnan Srinivasan an Consultant Oncologist.

The Team Nominated by Patients was the Phoenix Ward at Broomfield Hospital.
The Individual Efficiency and Effectiveness award went to Shiny Singh, a Renal Nurse
Team Efficiency and Effectiveness award was won by the Stroke Unit.

The Individual Service Development and Innovation award went to Catherine Dunn, Senior Sister, Mayflower Ward.

The Team Service Development and Innovation award was won by Outpatients Supervisors, RBMS ‘Our Values: ‘We are a Kind Professional Positive Team’.

Laser Therapy Service went to St Andrew’s OPD. Volunteer of the Year 2018 was won by Jo Cope, Medical Director’s Award went to Angio Suite and the Managing Director’s Award won by Helen Ali, Head of Site Management.

Chief Executive’s Award won by Caroline Shephard and the Chairman’s Award won by Research and Development Team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here